可持续发展的投入将成为高回报的关键战略

作为新生代数字世界的骨干基础设施,数据中心业务引人注目。 环境问题亦如此。将两者结合起来,实现可持续发展,不仅是数据中心行业的趋势,从经济发展的角度来看也有重要意义。

从内部来看,可持续经营可以转化成能源效率。据市场估计,数据中心的用电成本占整个项目全生命周期运营费用的25%至60% [1]。 从外部来看,客户和投资者对绿色节能措施有要求,政府对此又有优惠政策和补助,使得运营商对于可持续发展也有了很高的积极性。

在亚洲市场,许多投资者都是近期才开始考虑环境因素。 但是,注册金融分析师协会(简称“CFA协会”)和联合国负责任投资原则(简称“PRI”)于2019年在亚太地区进行的一项名为“环境、社会和企业治理:市场、实践和数据”的调查(简称“ESG调查”)结果显示,环境因素的影响将超过社会和治理因素 [2]。 调查中,许多投资者预测:到2022年,环境、社会和企业治理对股价和债券收益的影响会在2017年的基础上进一步上升,尤其是环境因素。 接受调查的对象中,预测环境因素将“经常”或“一直”影响股价的比例从24%上升到59%,影响公司债券收益的比例从15%跃升到48%。

随着物联网(IoT)、人工智能和5G的日益普及,全球处理和消费的数据和信息会进一步增长,这种趋势会更加明显。大多数用户并不清楚,他们所点击、欣赏和分享的每一个链接、视频或数字资料,都需要经过一系列复杂的处理,通过几公里的互联网管路和众多的数据中心,才能从一个点到达另一个点。这个过程也是碳排放的过程,因为所有数据都需要存储和处理,需要消耗电力。

根据IDC的预测,今年全球将生成和使用的数据将从当前的44 ZB上升到59 ZB(即59万亿个G [3]。 数据的爆炸式增长也离不开谷歌、亚马逊、脸书和阿里巴巴等超大型互联网公司的迅速发展,这些企业在云计算和数据中心需求方面的增长也遥遥领先,使得环境影响在数据中心行业更加凸显。

《科学》杂志2月份发表的一项研究表明,尽管数据中心计算实例在2010年到2018年期间增加了550%,但用于计算的总电量仅增加了6%。 研究发现,自2010年以来,每个计算实例的能耗(一种衡量数据中心能耗强度的指标)每年以20%的速度下降,与航空和制造等行业相比是相当有利的 [4]

该研究表明,在此期间,数据中心占全球用电总量1%的比例也没有发生变化。 尽管在用电效率方面有明显提升,2018年,数据中心仍然消耗了200太瓦时以上的电力 [5]。我们不能满足于现状,尤其是面对计算输出的迅速增长,急需进一步提高用电效率。 此外,最终用户、超大规模企业、投资者等多个层面都对绿色基础设施有真实需求。 作为数据中心生态系统中的一员,我们认为:挑战伴随着机遇。从中长期来看,成功解决这些挑战将为企业带来价值、带来有形和无形回报。

在这样的背景下,普平数据(PDG集团)将围绕四个关键领域全面实施计划,控制和减少环境影响:

sustainability chart CN首先,我们每个数据中心有采购和建设制冷系统和电气设备的预算,最大程度地减少碳排放。 我们的环境政策也适用于供应商,我们和供应商一起对所有产品进行全面评估——空冷或水冷的冷机哪一个对环境影响会较小? 哪种类型的不间断电源(UPS)最节能? 这些问题的答案,决定了我们如何利用采购来影响供应链中的其它企业去关注环境。

其次,客户的服务器和设备需要供电,而我们为客户的设备提供适当的运行环境还需要消耗额外的电力。虽然客户的用电不在我们的控制范围,但我们可以对温度和湿度环境所需的电量进行有效控制。 在数据中心行业,我们通过用电效率(简称“PUE”)来衡量——看计算设备的耗能情况。我们在和客户进行技术和商务讨论的时候,就开始探讨PUE的提升。

第三,我们的部分客户已经开始使用能够在较高温度运行的先进设备。 这会对PUE有很大影响(机房可运行的温度提高了,消耗的电量就下降了)。 此外,尽管通常在设计阶段会确定最佳PUE,但实际运行要达到设计PUE目标需要一流的工程和运维水平。 因此,有一支行业经验丰富的人才队伍至关重要。

第四,使用可再生能源,减少环境影响。 普平数据(PD集团)是一家泛亚公司,在中国、印度、印尼和新加坡均设有分公司,使我们能充分利用各国特殊的机会。 中国是世界领先的可再生能源生产国,产量达728吉瓦。 印度在可再生能源领域也取得了长足进步,超过20%的市电为绿色来源。 我们在这两个国家的业务可以最大限度利用可再生能源。 在印尼和新加坡,政策制定者也在推动使用更多可再生能源。

我们的环保之旅才刚刚开始。 普平数据(PDG集团)努力让所有数据中心达到亚太地区最高标准的认证(全球LEED 认证、新加坡建设局绿色标志建筑认证、印度绿色建筑委员会认证、印尼GBC认证等)。 我们实施统一的流程和运营方式,并日见成效。 我们相信,可持续发展是正确的方向,随着我们在亚太地区业务范围和规模的扩大,我们可以减少数字经济对环境的影响,并做出自己的贡献。对此,我们十分期待。

关于普平数据(PDG)
普平数据(PDG)是一家专注于互联网基础设施的投资、开发和运营的企业,背后有华平投资的强力支持。我们拥有跨亚太区的数据中心,为大型互联网公司和企业在快速增长的全球数字经济当中进行业务扩张提供强有力的保障。PDG具备敏捷和速度,并在全球性互联网基础设施建设方面有丰富的经验,在亚洲范围内为我们的合作伙伴和客户提供快速发展的机会。如需联系我们,请发送邮件到:info@princetondg.com

Chris Street

作者 Chris Street

PDG市场拓展执行副总裁

查看全部文章 Chris Street

Investing in sustainability as a key strategy for higher returns

The business case for data centers, the infrastructural backbone of the new digital universe, is compelling. So is the environmental agenda. Putting the two together for a sustainable future is not just a trend on the rise among facility operators, but an ambition that makes real economic sense.

Internally, sustainable operations translate to energy cost efficiency. By some market estimates, powering a data center accounts for between 25% to 60% of operating expenses over the life of a facility [1]. Externally, operators are motivated by their customers’ and investors’ expectations for green practices, as well as incentivized by government tax breaks and subsidies.

For investors in many Asian markets, incorporating the environmental factor in the investment process is in its early stages. But this environmental component is predicted to outweigh Social and Governance (ESG) issues, according to the ESG Integration survey in Asia Pacific: Markets, Practices, and Data by the CFA Institute and the United Nations-supported Principles for Responsible Investment (PRI) in 2019 [2]. It estimated that the number of investors expecting ESG issues to affect share prices and bond yields will increase in 2022 when compared to 2017, with environmental factor becoming the most influential. The number of respondents expecting environmental issues to “often” or “always” affect share price jumped from 24% to 59%, and corporate bond yields surged from 15% to 48%.

That trend will only grow as the world processes and consumes more data and information, propelled by the growing application of the Internet of Things (IoT), artificial intelligence, and 5G.

Unbeknownst to most users, every link, visual or digital file clicked on, enjoyed, and then shared requires a complex transaction involving miles of internet conduits and numerous data centers before arriving from one point to another. Along with it comes a carbon footprint trail because all data created requires storage and processing, and, in turn, power to do the task.

IDC projects that 59 zettabytes (ZB), or 59 trillion gigabytes, of data will be created and consumed globally this year, up from the current 44 ZB [3].

The data explosion also rides on the backs of the rapid growth of hyperscalers like Google, Amazon, Facebook, and Alibaba, who are leading the increase in demand for cloud computing and data centers. This has resulted in a sharpened focus on the data center industry to manage the environmental impact.

A study published in Science magazine in February showed that although data center compute instances increased by 550% from 2010 to 2018, aggregate power consumption for computation during the period only rose by 6%. It found that energy use per compute instance – a measure of energy intensity of data centers – reduced by 20% annually since 2010, comparing favorably against other industries like aviation and manufacturing [4].

The world’s data centers’ usage of 1% of the total global electricity consumption was also unchanged during the period, according to the study. Still, improvement aside, data centers remained responsible for more than 200 TWh of power consumption in 2018 [5]. There is certainly no room to be complacent, especially with the scale of expansive growth in computing output.

In addition, the desire for green infrastructure is real and comes at multiple levels, from end user consumers to hyperscalers to investors. As a player in the ecosystem, we see that challenges come with opportunities, which if properly addressed will bring value and actual and intangible equity to the business over the mid and long terms.

Amid such a context, Princeton Digital Group is implementing a comprehensive program aimed to manage and reduce our environmental impact, centering on four key areas:

illustration of PDG green data centers key areas

First, our capital expenditure budget for each of our data centers includes construction and procurement of cooling technology and electrical equipment to minimize carbon footprint. Our environmental policies are extended to our vendors, with whom we thoroughly evaluate all our offerings – Would an air-cooled or a water-cooled chiller be less adversely impactful? What type of uninterruptible power supply (UPS) system would be most energy-efficient? The answers to such questions will underscore how our purchasing power can affect other players in the supply chain to focus on the environment.

Second, our customers need power for their servers and equipment, and we require additional supply to maintain a controlled environment for their infrastructure. While their energy consumption is beyond our direct control, we can significantly ensure the quantum of power required to maintain temperatures and humidity at acceptable levels. This is measured in the industry by the Power Utilization Efficiency (PUE) metric – how much energy the computing equipment uses. PUE improvement starts with the technical and commercial discussions we have with our customers.

Third, there is already a trend among several of our customers, who have advanced equipment capable of operating in relatively higher temperature ranges. This makes a significant impact on PUE (as it takes less power to maintain a higher temperature range). In addition, while the best PUE is often determined at the design stage, it takes best-in-class engineering and operations to run data centers at their design PUE. Ensuring we maintain a team of talented professionals with an industry track record is critical.

Fourth, the use of renewables is another lever to reduce environmental impact. PDG is a pan-Asian company with a presence in China, India, Indonesia, and Singapore, giving us the opportunity to work towards leveraging various country-specific opportunities. China is the world’s leading producer of renewable energy with 728 GW of output. India has also made several strides in the renewable space, with more than 20% of its total utility electricity coming from green sources. Our presence in the two countries allows us to capitalize on their available renewable resources. The same can be said of Indonesia and Singapore, where policymakers are pushing for greater use of renewables.

Our environmental journey has just begun. PDG actively strives to certify all our new data centers to the highest possible standards applicable in the Asia-Pacific region (LEED Globally, BCA Green Mark SG, IGBC in India, GBC in Indonesia). We are implementing consistent processes and operations, and the drive is gaining traction. We believe a sustainable proposition is the way forward and we are excited for the opportunity to contribute to lessening the digital economy’s impact on the environment as we expand our business scope and scale across the region.

About PDG
Princeton Digital Group (PDG) is a Warburg Pincus-backed investor, developer, and operator of internet infrastructure. Our portfolio of data centers powers the expansion of hyperscalers and enterprises in the world’s fastest-growing digital economies. Our agility, speed, and unmatched experience in scaling global internet infrastructure provide our partners and customers immediate access to growth opportunities across Asia. To engage with us, email us at info@princetondg.com

Chris Street

Author Chris Street

Executive Vice President, Market Development at PDG

More posts by Chris Street